No.14040/45/2009-UTP Government of India Ministry of Home Affairs

North Block, New Delhi Dated the 3rd March, 2010

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Sub: Constitution of the State Security Commission for Union Territories in pursuance of the directions of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in WP (C) No.310/1996, titled Prakash Singh & Ors Vs. Union of India & Ors.

The undersigned is directed to say that in pursuance of the judgment dated the 22nd September, 2006 of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in W. P. (C) No.310 of 1996, titled Shri Prakash Singh & Ors. Vs. Union of India & Ors, it has been decided to set up a Union Territories Security Commission with jurisdiction over all the Union Territories, with the following composition:

- (i) Union Home Secretary ... Chairman
- (ii) Chief Secretary, Delhi ... Member
- (iii) Chief Secretary, A&N Islands ... Member
- (iv) Chief Secretary, Puducherry ... Member
- (v) Commissioner of Police, Delhi ... Member
- (vi) Representatives of other UTs (according to the requirements of the agenda of the meeting) ... Member
- (vii) 5 Independent Members to be nominated by the Central Government
- (viii) Joint Secretary (UT), MHA ... Convenor
- 2. The functions of the Commission shall be as under:
 - (a) to frame broad policy guidelines for promoting efficient, effective, responsive and accountable policing, in accordance with the law;
 - (b) to identify performance indicators to evaluate the functioning of the Police Service. These indicators shall, *inter alia*, include: operational efficiency, public satisfaction, victim satisfaction vis-à-vis police investigation and response, accountability, optimum utilisation of resources, and observance of human rights standards; and
 - (c) to review and evaluate organisational performance of the Police Service in the state as a whole as well as district-wise against (i) the Annual Plan, (ii) performance indicators as identified and laid down, and (iii) resources available with and constraints of the police.

- 3. The tenure of the Independent Members, nominated by the Central Government, shall be for a period of two years. An Independent Member may be removed by the Central Government for reasons to be recorded in writing.
- 4. The Independent Members may be paid fee and TA/DA as admissible for which orders will be issued shortly.

Sd. (Ashwani Kumar) Director (Services) Telefax: 23092436

- 1. Shri Rakesh Mehta, Chief Secretary, Govt. of NCT of Delhi, Delhi Secretariat, I.P. Estate, New Delhi.
- 2. Shri R. Chandramohan, Chief Secretary, Puducherry.
- 3. Shri Vivek Rae, Chief Secretary, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Port Blair.
- 4. Shri Pradip Mehra, Advisor to the Administrator, UT of Chandigarh, Chandigarh.
- 5. Shri Satya Gopal, Administrator, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Silvassa.
- 6. Shri Satya Gopal, Administrator, Daman & Diu, Moti Daman.
- 7. Shri J. K. Dadoo, Administrator, Lakshadweep, Kavaratti.
- 8. Shri Y. S. Dadwal, Commissioner of Police, Police Headquarters, New Delhi.
- 9. Shri Dharmendra Sharma, JS (PM), MHA, Jaisalmer House, New Delhi.