POWERS AND DUTIES OF MHA'S OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES:

I. The Department of Official Language has a separate Secretary.

II. The Department of Border Management has a Secretary.

III. The Department of Internal Security, Department of States, Department of Home, Department of Jammu & Kashmir Affairs and Department of Border Management, however, do not function in water-tight compartments. They all are inter-linked and function under the overall charge of the Home Secretary, who is assisted by the officers of the level of Special Secretary, Additional Secretary, Joint Secretary etc. The work of these Departments is distributed among different divisions, each headed by a Joint Secretary. The names of these divisions, indicating their major areas of responsibility, are given below:-

Administration Division

This Division is responsible for handling all administrative matters of the Ministry of Home Affairs and also deals with matters relating to Table of Precedence, Padma Awards, National Flag, National Anthem, State Emblem of India and Secretariat Security Organisation.

Border Management Division

This Division, set up recently, deals with all matters relating to management of borders and coastal security etc.

Centre-State Division

This Division deals with Central-State relations, including working of the Constitutional provisions governing such relations, appointment of Governors, creation of new States, nominations to Rajya Sabha/Lok Sabha, Inter-State boundary disputes, over-seeing the crime situation in States, etc.

Coordination Division

This Division mainly deals with the matters relating to intra-Ministry coordination, Parliament matters and public grievances.

Disaster Management Division (I +II)

These newly created Divisions are responsible for coordination of relief measures in the event of natural calamities and man-made disasters (except draught and epidemics).

Foreigners Division

This Division deals with all matters relating to Foreigners Act and Passport (Entry into India) Act, Registration of Foreigners Act, the Citizenship Act and the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act. It also controls Bureau of Immigration.

Freedom Fighters & Rehabilitation Division

This Division frames and implements the Freedom Fighters Pension Scheme and the scheme for rehabilitation of migrants from former West Pakistan/East Pakistan and provision of relief to Sri Lankan and Tibetan refugees.

Human Rights Division

This Division deals with matters relating to the Protection of Human Rights Act and also matters relating to national integration, communal harmony and Ayodhya matters.

Integrated Finance Division

This Division is responsible for formulating, operating and controlling the budget of the Ministry under the Integrated Finance Scheme.

Internal Security Division

This Division deals with matters relating to internal security, including anti-national and subversive activities of various groups/extremist organizations, Arms & Explosives, narcotics, National Security Act, etc.

Jammu & Kashmir Division

This Division deals with the Constitutional matters including article 370 of the Constitution of India and general policy matters in respect of J&K and terrorism/militancy in that State; it is also responsible for implementation of the PM's Package for J&K.

Judicial Division

This Division deals with all matters relating to the legislative aspects of the IPC/Cr.PC and the Commission of Inquiry Act; it also handles

matters relating to the State legislations to the extent these legislations require the assent of the President under the Constitution.

North-East Division

This Division deals with the law and order situation in North-Eastern States, including matters relating to insurgency and talks with various extremist groups operating in that region.

Police Division

This Division functions as the cadre controlling authority for IPS officers and also deals with all matters relating to Central Police Forces including their deployment.

Police Modernisation Division

This Division handles all items of work relating to modernization of State Police Forces, provisioning/procurement of various items for modernization of Central Police Forces, police reforms, police training and VIP/vital installation Security.

Policy Planning Division

This Division deals with matters relating to policy formulation in respect of counter-terrorism, international covenants, bilateral assistance treaties and related items of work.

Naxal Management Division

This Division monitors the naxal situation and counter-measures being taken by the affected states with the objective of improving groundlevel policing and development response as per the location specific action plans formulated/to be formulated by the affected States, and reviews with the concerned Ministries/Departments to ensure optimum utilization of funds released under and proper implementation of various developmental schemes in all naxal-affected areas.

Union Territories Division

This Division deals with all legislative and Constitutional matters relating to Union Territories including Delhi; it also functions as the cadre controlling authority for AGMU cadre of IPS/IAS as also DANICS/DANIPS. It is also responsible for over-seeing the crime situation in UTs.

IV. Each Division consists of a number of Sections/Desks, dealing with specific subjects allotted to them. The Sections/Desks, headed by Section

Officers/Desk Officers, are manned by subordinate staff such as Lower Division Clerks, Upper Division Clerks, Assistants etc.