## GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR HOME DEPARTMENT

\*\*\*

## NOTIFICATION

Imphal, the **25**<sup>th</sup> September, 2024

No.2/8(6)/2022-H(AFSPA): Whereas, the Governor of Manipur is of the opinion that the violent activities of various extremist/insurgent groups warrant the use of Armed Forces in aid of civil administration in the entire State of Manipur except the areas falling under the jurisdiction of the 19(nineteen) Police Stations under (i) Imphal (ii) Lamphel (iii) City (iv) Singjamei (v) Sekmai (vi)Lamsang (vii) Patsoi (viii) Wangoi(ix) Porompat (x) Heingang (xi) Lamlai (xii) Irilbung (xiii) Leimakhong (xiv) Thoubal (xv) Bishnupur (xvi) Nambol (xvii) Moirang (xviii) Kakching and (xix) Jiribam.

- 2. Whereas, the State Government is of the opinion after analyzing the prevailing law and order situation in the State that it is not expendient to have detailed assessment on the ground as the Sister Security Agencies are preoccupied in maintenance of law and order. Further, it will be premature to arrive at any conclusion or decision on such sensitive matter without detailed assessment; thereby not appropriate to review the "Disturbed Area" status of the State at the moment.
- 3. Further, the issue of declaration of "Disturbed area' status is very sensitive and may likely attract public criticism and resistance if proper care is not taken. Keeping in view of above and the overall law and order situation in the State and the capability of the State machineries, the State Government has decided to maintain status quo on the present disturbed area status in the State of Manipur excluding the areas falling under the 19 police stations as mentioned at Para 1 above, for a period of 6(six) months w.e.f., 01/10/2024.
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (Act No.28 of 1958) as amended from time to time, the Governor of Manipur hereby accords approval to declare the entire State of Manipur excluding the areas falling under the jurisdiction of the 19 (nineteen) Police Stations listed below as "Disturbed Area" for a period of 6(six) months with effect from 1st October, 2024.

Sl.No.	POLICE STATIONS	SI. No.	POLICE STATIONS
1	Imphal	11	Lamlai
2	Lamphel	12	Irilbung
3	City	13	Leimakhong
4	Singjamei	14	Thoubal
5	Sekmai	15	Bishnupur
6	Lamsang	16	Nambol
7	Patsoi	17	Moirang
8	Wangoi	18	Kakching
9	Porompat	19	Jiribam
10	Heingang		J. I Jan J.

By orders & in the name of the Governor,

(N. Ashok Kumar)

Commissioner (Home), Government of Manipur

## Copy to:-

- 1. Secretary to Governor of Manipur, Raj Bhavan, Imphal.
- 2. Secretary to Chief Minister, Manipur.
- 3. P.S. to all Ministers/Chairman (HAC), Manipur.
- 4. Chief Secretary, Government of Manipur.
- 5. Director General of Police, Manipur.
- 6. I.G. Assam Rifles (South)/ (East) C/o 99 APO.
- 7. G.O.C. 57 Mtn. Divn., C/O 99 APO
- 8. I.G of Police, CRPF (M& N Sector) Gr. Centre, Langjing.
- 9. Joint Director, SIB (MHA), Lamphel.
- 10. Commissioner (Law), Government of Manipur.
- 11. Dy.I.G, BSF Hqrs. Koirengei.
- 12. All Deputy Commissioners, Manipur.
- 13. All Sr. Superintendents/ Superintendents of Police, Manipur.
- 14. Director, Printing & Stationary, Manipur- with request for publication in Manipur Gazette Extra Ordinary and to furnish 20 copies of the Gazette.
- 15. Director, Information and Public Relations, Manipur with request for wide publication through print and electronic media.
- 16. Station Director, Doordarshan Kendra, Imphal.
- 17. Station Director, All India Radio (AIR), Imphal.
- 18. File.

## Copy also to:

Rajeev Kumar, Under Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, North East Division, Government of India w.r.t. MHA letter No. 11011/51/2015-NE. V dated 23-09-2024.

(Dr. Mayengbam Veto Singh)

Joint Secretary (Home), Government of Manipur

Page 2 of 2