Ministry of Home Affairs North East Division

Major Initiatives and Peace Process in North Eastern Region (NER)

1. Improved security situation in NER: The security situation in the North Eastern (NE) States has improved substantially since 2014. Compared to 2014, there has been 64% reduction in insurgency incidents in 2024. Similarly, in this period, Security Forces casualties have come down by 85% and Civilian deaths by 86%.

2. Peace accords/agreements in NER:

- (i). **ANVC Peace Accord (2014):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed with the Achik National Volunteer Council (ANVC) and ANVC/B in Meghalaya on 24.09.2014, following which 751 cadres/workers of ANVC groups surrendered and dissolved themselves on 15.12.2014.
- (ii). **NLFT(SD) Peace Agreement (2019):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed with National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT/SD) on 10.08.2019, following which 88 cadres of NLFT(SD) surrendered with 44 arms.
- (iii). **Bodo Accord (2020):** A Memorandum of Settlement(MoS) was signed on 27.1.2020 with Bodo Groups of Assam to solve the long pending Bodo issue, following which a total of 4,881 cadres of NDFB groups have abjured violence and joined the mainstream of society. These groups disbanded on 9th-10th March, 2020.
- (iv). **Karbi Accord (2021):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed on 4.9.2021 with representatives of Karbi Groups to end the decades old crisis in Karbi Anglong area of Assam, following which 1,926 cadres have abjured violence and joined the mainstream of society.

- (v). **Adivasi Peace Accord (2022):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed on 15.9.2022 with representatives of 8 Adivasi Groups to end the decades old crisis of Adivasis and tea garden workers in Assam, following which 1182 cadres of Adivasi armed groups have joined the mainstream by laying down arms.
- (vi). **DNLA Peace Agreement (2023)**: A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed on 27.4.2023 with Dimasa National Liberation Army/ Dimasa Peoples' Supreme Council (DNLA/ DPSC) of Assam to end the insurgency in Dima Hasao District of Assam, following which 181 cadres of DNLA have joined the mainstream by laying down their arms on 28.10.2023.
- (vii). **UNLF Peace Agreement (2023):** A significant peace agreement on agreed ground rules was signed on 29.11.2023 with United National Liberation Front (UNLF), marking a pivotal moment in the search for peace in Manipur through political dialogue. This historic accord saw the UNLF, the oldest valley-based armed group in Manipur, commit to renouncing violence and embracing the Constitution of India and the rule of law. It was for the first time that a valley-based Manipuri armed group agreed to return to mainstream.
- (viii). **ULFA Peace Agreement (2023):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed on 29.12.2023 with United Liberation Front of Assam (ULFA), following which 852 cadres have surrendered and joined the mainstream of society. ULFA group disbanded themselves on 23.1.2024.
- (ix). **NLFT & ATTF Peace Agreement (2024):** A Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) was signed on 4.9.2024 with National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) and All Tripura Tiger Force (ATTF) groups of Tripura, following which 918 cadres of NLFT & ATTF and other groups have laid down their arms and joined the mainstream of society.

3. Other important agreements:

- (i) **Bru Agreement (2020):** An Agreement was signed with representatives of Bru migrants on 16.1.2020 for permanent settlement of Bru(Reang) families in Tripura. 6935 Bru(Reang) families (37,584 persons) are being rehabilitated in Tripura with a financial assistance/package of Rs. 793.65 crore.
- (ii) **Agreement with TIPRA (2024):** A tripartite agreement was signed between Government of India, Government of Tripura and The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance/TIPRA, popularly known as Tipra Motha, on 2.3.2024 at New Delhi. As per agreement, it was agreed to amicably resolve all issues of indigenous people of Tripura relating to history, land and political rights, economic development, identity, culture and language. Besides, a Joint Working Group/Committee has been constituted to work out and implement the mutually agreed points on all the above-mentioned issues in a time-bound manner to ensure an honourable solution.

4. Ceasefire/ Suspension of Operation / Cessation of Operation/ other agreements:

- (i) A framework agreement was signed with NSCN(IM) on 3.8.2015.
- (ii) The timeframe for ceasefire agreements with National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Reformation) [NSCN/R], NSCN (NK) and NSCN (K-Khango) of Nagaland have been extended upto April, 2026.
- (iii) A ceasefire agreement was signed with the NSCN(K)Niki group on 8.9.2021 and more than 200 cadres of this group joined the peace process with 83 weapons. The timeframe for ceasefire agreement with NSCN(K)Niki has been extended upto 7.9.2025.

(iv) A Cessation of Operations (CoO) agreement was signed with the Zeliangrong United Front (ZUF) group of Manipur on 27.12.2022. ZUF agreed to abjure violence and join the peaceful democratic process as established by law of the land.

5. Inter-state boundary agreements:

- (i) Assam-Meghalaya: A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed in New Delhi on 29.3.2022 between Assam and Meghalaya to resolve their inter-state boundary issues in respect of six areas of difference out of total twelve areas of difference. Both States have constituted Regional Committees to finalize settlement of remaining 6 areas of difference. Demarcation of boundary is being carried out by Survey of India in consultation with both States as per MoU.
- (ii) Assam-Arunachal Pradesh: A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed at New Delhi on 20.4.2023 between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh to settle their long-pending inter-state boundary issues in respect of 123 villages. Both States have agreed that this agreement will be final with regard to 123 disputed villages and neither of the States will make any new claim related to any area or village in future.

6. Reduction in 'disturbed areas' under AFSPA:

- (i) **Tripura:** completely withdrawn w.e.f. 27.5.2015
- (ii) **Meghalaya:** completely withdrawn w.e.f. 1.4.2018
- (iii) **Assam:** completely withdrawn from all the districts except 3 districts
- (iv) **Arunachal Pradesh:** withdrawn gradually and now remains in only 3 districts (Tirap, Changlang & Longding) and 3 police stations in 1 other district (Namsai).
- (v) **Manipur:** revoked from 13 police stations of 5 districts
- (vi) **Nagaland:** Now applicable in 9 districts and 21 police stations of 5 other districts.
