MOST IMMEDIATE

No.2/4/2019-Public Government of India/Bharat Sarkar Ministry of Home Affairs/GrihMantralaya

North Block, New Delhi Dated 1st August, 2019

...2/-

То

The Chief Secretaries of

All State Governments and Administrators of all Union Territory Administrations

Subject: INDEPENDENCE DAY CELEBRATIONS ON 15th AUGUST

Sir,

The Independence Day Celebrations in Delhi, as usual, shall consist of the following: -

- a) The Ceremony at Red Fort consisting of the presentation of a Guard of Honour by the Armed Forces and the Delhi Police to the Prime Minister (Pradhan Mantri), unfurling of the National Flag accompanied by playing of the National Anthem and firing of 21gun salute, speech by the Prime Minister, singing of the National Anthem by school children/NCC Cadets, immediately after PM's speech and release of tri-coloured balloons at the end.
- b) A reception at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

2. For observance of the Independence Day at different levels in the States/UT Administrations, certain standing guidelines have been prescribed, which have been enumerated in the succeeding paragraphs.

3. The functions in the State/Union Territory Administrations on this day may consist of the following:-

STATE LEVEL:

A ceremony in the morning (after 9.00 AM) in the State/Union Territory Capitals consisting of unfurling of the National Flag by the Chief Minister; playing of the National Anthem; presentation of Guard of Honour by the Police including Para-Military Forces, Home Guards, NCC, Scouts etc; speech by the Chief Minister and singing of the National Anthem.

DISTRICT LEVEL:

A similar ceremony in the morning (after 9.00 AM) at the District level which may, inter-alia, consist of unfurling of the National Flag by a Minister/Commissioner/District Magistrate; playing of the National Anthem, parade by State Police personnel, Home Guards/NCC, Scouts, speech by the Minister/ Commissioner/ District Magistrate explaining the significance of 15th August and exhorting the audience to work for the unity and integrity of the country and singing of the National Anthem.

SUB-DIVISIONAL LEVEL/BLOCK LEVEL:

Ceremonial hoisting of the National Flag by a Minister/Sub-Divisional Magistrate accompanied by the singing of the National Anthem, speech by the VIP, unfurling of the Flag, singing of the National Anthem etc.

PANCHAYAT HEADQUARTERS/BIGGER VILLAGES:

Ceremonial hoisting of the National Flag by the Sarpanch/Village Head-man accompanied by the singing of the National Anthem, speech by the Sarpanch/ Village Head-man (explaining the significance of 15th August and exhorting the audience to work for the unity and integrity of the country), singing of the National Anthem etc.

4. Other functions of the day may include items like sports (including rural sports), P.T. display or display of other skills by college/school students, planting of trees, inter-school/inter-college debates, community work, launching of any important scheme of rural development, talks by selected boys/girls on the significance of 15th August, cultural programme, distribution of prizes/certificates/medals for work in fields like national integration, small savings, afforestation, family planning, or any other aspect of rural development, or any other item which the State Government/Union Territory Administration may consider for inclusion in the day's programme befitting the occasion.

5. As regards holding of reception at Raj Bhavan/Raj Niwas by the Governor/Lt. Governor on the Independence Day, the matter is left to the discretion of Governors/Lt. Governors.

Yours faithfully,

Seepan Kumar 01/08/2019

(Deepak'Kumar) Under Secretary to the Govt.of India TEL. No.011- 2309 2421

No.2/4/2019-Public

Dated, 1st August, 2019

Copy for information to:-

- 1. Secretaries of Governors/ Lt. Governors of all States/Union Territories
- 2. All Ministries/ Departments of the Govt. of India
- 3. President's Secretariat
- 4. Vice-President's Secretariat
- 5. Prime Minister's Office
- 6. Registrar, Supreme Court of India
- 7. Registrar, Delhi High Court
- 8. Cabinet Secretariat
- 9. Rajya Sabha Secretariat
- 10. Lok Sabha Secretariat
- 11. NITI Aayog, Sansad Marg, New Delhi.

12. Election Commission of India

- 13. Union Public Service Commission
- 14. Office of Comptroller & Auditor General of India
- 15. Central Vigilance Commission
- 16. University Grants Commission
- 17. National Commission for SCs
- 18. National Commission for STs
- 19. National Commission for Backward Classes
- 20. National Commission for SafaiKaramcharis
- 21. National Commission for Minorities
- 22. National Commission for Women
- 23. National Human Rights Commission
- 24. Manager, State Bank of India, Parliament Street, New Delhi
- 25. Manager, Reserve Bank of India, New Delhi
- 26. All attached & subordinate offices of the Ministry of Home Affairs located at Delhi/New Delhi
- 27. Ad.III Section, MHA

Spare Copies-5

Sugar Kunas 01/08/2019

(Deepak Kumar) Under Secretary to the Govt. of India TEL. No.011- 2309 2421