## Press Information Bureau Government of India

\*\*\*\*

## Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Police Training Declared

New Delhi, August 14, 2019

Union Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India has instituted a scheme for the awarding of the "Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Police Training" to the trainers and other support staff working in Police Training Institutions of State and Central Police Forces.

The "Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Police Training" for the year 2017-2018 has been declared for the Police Officers and personnel who have made an outstanding contribution in the field of Police training at various Training Institutions of States/ UTs and CPOs/ CAPFs.

The objective of institution of the "Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Police Training" is to accord due recognition to the work of trainers in enhancing the quality and standard of training in Police Training Institutions in the States/ UTs and CPOs/CAPFs.

The nominations are received from States/ UTs and CPOs/ CAPFs after having been scrutinised by the Institution Level Committee and the Headquarters Level Committee of each Nominating Organisation. The final recommendation is made by the BPR&D Committee, which is then approved by the MHA.

For the year 2017-2018, a total number of 560 nominations were received out of which 245 nominees were recommended as eligible for the awarding of the "Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Police Training".

The list of awardees of the medals has been uploaded on the BPR&D website. The number of Medals awarded to States/ UTs and CPOs/ CAPFs is as enlisted below:-

S.No.	States/ UTs/CPOs/CAPF	Nos
1.	Assam Rifles	01
2.	BSF	22
3.	CISF	12
4.	CRPF	24
5.	ITBP	08
6.	NDRF	01
7.	NSG	01
8.	SSB	08
9.	BPR&D	04
10.	DCPW	02
11.	IB	03
12.	NEPA	02
13.	NICFS	01
14.	SVP NPA	02

15.	Andaman & Nicobar	02
16.	Andaman & Nicobai  Andhra Pradesh	04
17.	Assam	05
18.	Bihar	04
19.	Chandigarh	01
20.	Chhattisgarh	06
21.	Delhi	08
22.	Goa	01
23.	Gujarat	03
24.	Haryana	06
25.	Jammu & Kashmir	08
26.	Jharkhand	07
27.	Karnataka	07
28.	Kerala	03
29.	Madhya Pradesh	07
30.	Maharashtra	18
31.	Manipur	04
32.	Meghalaya	02
33.	Mizoram	02
34.	Nagaland	04
35.	Orissa	06
36.	Puducherry	02
37.	Punjab	05
38.	Rajasthan	10
39.	Tamil Nadu	04
40.	Telangana	06
41.	Tripura	04
42.	Uttar Pradesh	01
43.	Uttarakhand	04
44.	West Bengal	10
	Total	245

\*\*\*\*

## VG/VM/HS/SS